Sharon’s Story

inspire-blog-images

I began attending Totton Health & Leisure Centre back in January 2015. Initially I wasn’t sure what to do or what to expect – like many, I thought I was never going to be able to juggle the challenge of shredding weight along with a hefty work schedule and looking after my children.

Just over a year later, I’m now running. Soon I plan to start running outside, competing in half marathons and more! A journey of a thousand miles really can begin with a single step.

Starting with treadmill walking, weights and cross-training, I then went onto Aqua Aerobics and Zumba, which was tough but nowhere near the drudgery I thought it might be. That was and is important to me and it was a revelation to find out that actually, this is a right laugh!

After I’d overcome that hurdle, feeling buoyed by the fact I was at least trying to do something for my own health and well-being, I spoke to Michelle at the leisure centre to see how I could build on what I had done. She was the one that suggested I start running and devised a plan that I can follow using an app on my phone that connects to the gym’s own machines.

I had reservations about telling my story because I’ve just come out of hospital having had a tummy-tuck to remove excess skin. I thought this seemed liked cheating but Jess from the marketing team was most encouraging. Only once I had lost around 2-2.5 stone did I think about having the work done; if one person reads this and makes their own changes it will have worked.

I’ll never have a Cindy Crawford type figure but I will be the fittest I can be. Witness the fitness – you won’t regret it!

Sharon from Totton Health and Leisure. Featured in September 2016 Inspire Magazine.

Leave a Reply

